top of page

Blog 6 MHH Chapter 14

Finding a good source for a research essay can sometimes be hard to find when you don't really know where to look. Having good scholarly sources is important because you want to make sure your information is credible but also reliable in the way that you use it to inform an audience in your research paper. In this chapter, the MHH Handbook explains a lot of the same materials and features that the librarian, Liz, covered with us two weeks ago. When finding sources it is important to know which data base you are using and which keywords you will use in that particular search engine. This comes in handy because you can use keywords to narrow your search results down to just a few sources to choose from. In my case I will be writing on Business Entrepreneurship and how the writing in this field is different than writing an ordinary english paper. For example, I may want to narrow my search down to "Writing in Entrepreneurship" because just saying "Entrepreneurship" in general is going to give me thousands of results.

Finding sources that fit your topic best will only make your life easier in the long run. I find it very helpful that a minimum of 10 sources are required for project two. I will use the knowledge I retain from these sources for my paper but also learn more about entrepreneurship in general. Finding 10 different sources can also allow you to see different opinions on your particular research topic. I think it's important to weigh all sides because that is what will help you create your own opinion on the topic and you will know more about what you are specifically talking about. I know to many finding ten sources seems like a ton of busywork, but it will reframe you from paraphrasing specific information which could lead to plagiarism. The more sources you acquire the more you can find to write about. Don't dread the sources, they are there to help you out longterm!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page